Conference organization


The International Society for the Study of Harmful Algae (ISSHA) was founded in 1997, in response to a request from the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO for an international program o­n harmful algae. The Society is affiliated to the ICSU family of organizations as a constituent part of the International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS) through the International Association of Biological Oceanography (IABO). The overall mandate of the Society is to promote and foster research and training programs o­n harmful algae, and to co-sponsor meetings o­n this topic at the national, regional, and international level.

Since 2006, the International Conferences on Harmful Algae (ICHA) have been convened by ISSHA and organized every two years in different countries around the world. ISSHA supports the local (host) Organizing Committee and edits the conference proceedings through the activities of specific Council Committees (Publications, Travel Awards, Achievement Awards, Finances).


Local Organizing Committee

Anthony MASSE, France
Gaël BOUGARAN, France
Helène PARFAIT, France
Maud LEMOINE, France
Patricia THIBAULT-PRALIN, France
Philipp HESS, France
Sophie PILVEN, France
Véronique SECHET, France
Zouher AMZIL, France

Scientific Committee

Allan CEMBELLA, Germany
Amel LATIFI, France
Anne THEBAULT, France
Annick WILMOTTE, Belgium
Anthony MASSE, France
Benjamin MARIE, France
Bureau des Produits de la Mer et de l'Eau Douce, France
Catherine BELIN, France
Catherine DREANNO, France
Catherine QUIBLIER, France
Cécile BERNARD, France
Claudia WIEGAND, France
Clémence GATTI, France
Damien TRAN, France
Delphine LATOUR, France
Diana KIRILOVSKY, France
Felipe ARTIGAS, France
Gaël BOUGARAN, France
Hélène HEGARET, France
Jean-François HUMBERT, France
Jean-Luc ROLLAND, France
Jordi MOLGO, France
Juliette FAUCHOT, France
Laure GUILLOU, France
Marie BONNIN, France
Marie-Yasmine DECHRAOUI-BOTTEIN, Monaco
Maud LEMOINE, France
Mélanie ROUE, France
Mireille CHINAIN, France
Mohammed LAABIR, France

Muriel GUGGER, France
Myriam BORMANS, France
Nathalie ARNICH, France
Nicolas CHOMERAT, France
Philipp HESS, France
Philippe SOUDANT, France
Raffaele SIANO, France
Rodolphe LEMEE, France
Romulo ARAOZ, France
Ronel BIRE, France
Sophie PARDO, France
Valérie FESSARD, France
Véronique MARTIN-JEZEQUEL, France
Véronique SECHET, France
Zouher AMZIL, France 


International Advisory Board

Aifeng LI, China
Allan CEMBELLA, Germany
Ana GAGO, Spain
Asma HAMZA, Tunisia
Bastiaan Willem IBELINGS, Switzerland, Netherlands
Beatriz REGUERA, Spain
Charles LUGOMELA, Tanzania
Christine BAND-SCHMITT, Mexico
Emanuela TESTAI, Italy
Esther GARCES, Spain
Grant PITCHER, South Africa
Gustaaf HALLEGRAEF, Australia
Henrik ENEVOLDSEN, Denmark
Ian JENKINSON, China, France
Lincoln MACKENZIE, New Zealand
Lirong SONG, China
Luis BOTANA, Spain
Luis PROENCA, Brazil
Marie-Yasmine DECHRAOUI-BOTTEIN, Monaco
Mitsunori IWATAKI, Japan
Patricia TESTER, USA
Philipp HESS, France
Rainer KURMAYER, Austria
Rencheng YU, China
Robin RAINE, Ireland
Songhui LU, China
Sun Ju KIM, Republic of Korea
Takeshi YASUMOTO, Japan